Dear Best Friend,

Throwback to the nights we spent laughing at just how silly you are and how childlike I am. Thanks for teaching me how to laugh at myself. I owe you.

Throwback to the very first time we Skyped. Remember those first 20 minutes? I do. They were so awkward, but we got through the dreaded small talk and we were able to chat for a few hours.

Throwback to wandering around Chicago. I’ve always appreciated you allowing me me to tag along, I had so much fun.

Throwback to when I told you I had a crush on you. Thanks for ignoring that and for continuing to be my friend after. I’ve never admired a couple more than I admire you and your girlfriend. You two are absolutely darling and I am so thankful that God put her into your life. You deserve the best and she seems to be the best.

I could not have been happier than when I was with you. You made me feel like someone believed in me; like I wasn’t a complete failure. You were proud of me for my little achievements and that made me see that it’s okay to be proud of myself.  You made me feel good – happy. But my favorite part about our friendship is that I got to watch your face as you talked about something that you’re passionate about. I remember being in complete awe of your intelligence. You were my inspiration to be better… to do good. Every time we would talk, I would learn something new and loved that. I never stopped learning when I talked to you. You were the best thing to have happened to me in a really long time.

From my point of view, our friendship was going great. We would chat when we were able (which wasn’t often, but we did what we could) and when we did chat, it was fantastic!….. But then it turned into my messages being read, but never replied to. I’m sorry if I did something wrong. I’m sorry if I’m too clingy, too annoying, or too boring. You were my best friend and I didn’t want to lose that.

I took my wall down. Ya know, the one with all the pictures on it? Yeah, all of those pictures are gone and put away. See, the memories were great while they lasted and I will never forget all of them, but I can’t keep holding on to that summer, so I took it all down. No more smiles or laughter. No more “Katie Face” or Innuendo Bingo. No more Breakfast Club……. No more us.

I didn’t take it down because I hate you. That’s actually very far from the reason of why I took it down. I took it down because I love you probably way more than you love me. I took it down because it’s time to move on – from “la la land”, from summer camp… from us.

I will always love you. I will never intentionally push you away or say we can’t be friends. I will never look down on you.  You were my best friend and you still know more about me than most others, so thank you for being the incredible human that you are.

I wish the absolute best for you. I wish that God sends nothing but great things your way. I hope our paths cross again sometime in life.

I love you, buddy. I always will.

