IMG_5182Even though I haven’t seen you in person for two years, even though we live over 1,000 miles away, and even though we drive each other crazy despite the distance, I’m so thankful for our friendship. It takes a certain kind of pair to make a friendship like ours work, and somehow we manage to do just that (even when I’m about to give up on our friendship because I get frustrated with the lack of communication.)

We aren’t one for “mushy gushy” words, even though I am very affectionate most of the time. I don’t often tell you how thankful I am for you. I don’t often tell you how much I care about you or how much I love you. I don’t often tell you thank you for sticking with me while I try to get my last minute thoughts out while we Skype even though I know you’re dying inside and all you want to do is go to bed. Sometimes I forget about the time difference (and the fact that not everyone is as much of a night owl as I am.)

Thank you for dealing with my dramatic self. I’m not sure why you do, I’m not sure why you continue to allow me to be dramatic, but I’m really thankful for you sticking with me. I’m not the easiest person to be friends with or the easiest person to listen to for long periods of time (because I talk a LOT), yet you always seem to prove to me that you are listening and you give me a different side of the situation to look at. It’s refreshing, influential, and actually really appreciated. Sometimes I just really need a reality check.

Thank you for supporting me and telling me how proud you are of me. I honestly don’t know if you realize how much your support means. Knowing that I’m at a place in my life that I’m so glad to be at is incredible, but being able to share that joy with you has made me even more sure that I’m where I’m supposed to be. I’m so in love with how far I’ve come in almost 2 years that it feels really great and reassuring that I’m doing well.

Thank you for your love. Thank you for seeing the good in me when I can’t and for simply being there. Thank you for listening, for the chats, for being so calm, and for poking fun at me. I feel your love through the computer screen when we’re messaging back and forth or when we’re Skyping and it feels so incredible. I know I don’t deserve it, but I truly thank you for it. Thank you for all of the memories. From me asking you to be my best friend, to watching and quoting The Breakfast Club, to laying in the middle of the road at night, to Chicago… thank you for these memories and adventures.

Most importantly, I want you to know how proud of you I am. It makes me so happy to see your face just light up every time I ask you about your girlfriend, to listen to you talk about what you’re doing in class with your films, and to hear about how you’re changing the world for the better. I really look up to you and I can only hope that some day I am as good of a person as you are. You might not realize it, but you’ve taught me a lot and you’ve become such an inspiration to me. I just want to tell the entire world about how cool you are and how inspired I am by you. You’re an incredible man. I hope you know that.

All of my love to you.

