flower child

I’ve watched too many of my friends and family members settle for what they don’t deserve. As women, many of us seem to be very vulnerable and outspoken. We don’t seem to be taken seriously or respected to the extent that we should. We seem to be looked at as objects at times and have for some reason decided to settle with that.

I’ve watched this for too long and I can’t sit by and watch this happen anymore. I have a voice, and a very opinionated voice for that matter. This blog post isn’t much and I’m not sure I will ever be happy with it until I know for certain that this can make a difference in the world. Ladies, we don’t deserve to settle. We don’t deserve to be treated like fools and like our opinions don’t matter. We deserve so much more and here are just a few things that want NEED you to know.

-YOU DESERVE TO BE TREATED WITH RESPECT-

When I was quite young (maybe 7 or 8) my dad gave me this list of rules of what my future boyfriend should have. Throughout these years, he would ask me what the number one rule is. That number one rule is that I will be treated with respect and if I don’t get that, then my future boyfriend doesn’t deserve my time of day. This holds true to every woman out there. I’ve seen too many of my friends and family members get heartbroken because they weren’t treated with respect in their relationship. We shouldn’t have to learn to settle with being treated like crap. A healthy relationship, whether it be a friendship or significant other, begins with respect. I’ve recently learned what it’s like to watch somebody play the “woe is me” card and not give a single care in the world that their words hurt who they were talking to. This happened to the most important woman in my entire life and I felt so offended that she could be treated this way. She didn’t deserve that and neither do you. Stand up for what yourself and those around you. You deserve respect and there’s no reason to settle for anything less.

-YOU DESERVE TO STOP BEING STEREOTYPED-

Going out every weekend does not make you a slut. Having a lot of sex does not make you a whore. Having a bad day does not make you a bitch. Being fat doesn’t make you disgusting, being thin doesn’t make you anorexic, the list can go on and on. But here’s the thing… Being rude, making these judgements, and bashing on one another does make you mean. I’m no angel, I’ve had my fair share of judging people and making stereotypes. However, I’ve really been trying hard to stop. We are more than what others think we are. I am more than my weight, I am more than the words that I am writing…. What you have done and what you look like does not define who you are. You are first and foremost a human being with feelings, not a stereotype. You deserve to be treated like like a human.

-YOU DESRVE EQUALITY-

Women are strong. Women are brave. Women are powerful, intelligent, and absolutely amazing. There are so many women in the world that I look up to because they’ve chosen to make a difference. They’ve chosen to go after the same rights that men have, to go after the same careers as men.. to make history. We deserve to be treated equal to men, but not only in history. Let me tell you something… you do not deserve to only be in the kitchen making men sandwiches. If you’re there because you feel obligated to, girl GET OUT. Men are no better than women just as women are no better than men. We were created equally and it’s time that we start being treated that way.

-YOU DESERVE TO BE LOVED FOR WHO YOU ARE-

If somebody is trying to change you, do you really need them in your life? If you feel obligated to be somebody that isn’t you around somebody else, is that fair to you? Is it healthy? No! Especially if that somebody is your significant other. I’m not saying that you can’t compromise on certain things, but you shouldn’t have to do a complete 180 for somebody. Because you are more than enough and who you are is more than enough. If somebody cannot accept that, then they aren’t worth it. This may not be your final form, but that doesn’t mean that you don’t deserve somebody to help you through the hard times, to be there when you grow, to love you for your flaws and mistakes. You are who you are for a reason. There’s room to grow and change… but you deserve to be surrounded by people that support you and help you rather than force this change upon you.

-YOU DESERVE THE ENTIRE WORLD-

You deserve butterflies in your tummy, a smile that doesn’t stop growing, and laughter from good times. You deserve friends and family that love you and support you in whatever it is that you do. You deserve love from somebody that you could never experience from somebody else. You deserve cute texts and calls, cheezy cards during the holidays, and romantic dates. You deserve the world. And I hope you know that.

